Drunk Driving Charges Must Be Taken Seriously
Are you facing criminal charges of drunk driving in Louisiana? If so, you need an experienced and aggressive attorney by your side.
At Evans & Franklin in Bossier City, we understand that being charged with operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI) ― also known as DUI or DWI ― can leave you feeling overwhelmed with fear and anxiety. Thankfully, we are here to help people throughout the greater Shreveport area. Our results-oriented attorneys will carefully explain your legal options and tirelessly defend your rights. When your future is at stake, trust us to guide you.
Penalties For Drunk Driving
As with most criminal offenses in Louisiana, a conviction for drunk driving can carry a significant punishment. Even first-time offenders may face many serious penalties, including:
- A fine of $300 to $1,000
- At least 32 hours of community service, at least half of which must be garbage pickup
- Required participation in a driver improvement and a substance abuse program
- Possible installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicles
- Possible jail time of 10 days to six months, which can be suspended as long as your blood alcohol level (BAC) was less than .15 percent
- If your BAC is more than .15 percent but less than .20 percent, you will have an additional 48 hours of jail time that cannot be suspended.
- If your BAC is .20 percent or more, you will have a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 48 hours, a fine of $750 to $1,000, a two-year license suspension and required installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicles
It is important to remember that these penalties increase dramatically if you are convicted of a second, third or subsequent offense. Also, the laws associated with drunk driving are constantly changing in Louisiana. What is in effect today, may not be tomorrow ― making it more important than ever to seek the legal guidance of an experienced OWI/DUI/DWI defense attorney to find out the most current laws.